Andrew Dipper

2014 BBC New Comedy Award finalists announced

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The finalists for the 2014 BBC New Comedy Awards have been announced.

Lost Voice Guy [pictured], Tom Little, Brennan Reece, Thomas Ward, Hari Sriskantha and Amir Khoshsokhan will compete in next Wednesday’s final at The Comedy Store in London, which will be broadcast live on the Steve Wright in the Afternoon Show on Radio 2.

The winner, decided by a public vote, gets £1000 in prize money as well as the chance to record their own BBC Radio pilot.

The BBC New Comedy Awards initially ran from 1995 to 2005 with the likes of Alan Carr, Peter Kay, Sarah Millican and Marcus Brigstocke amongst the finalists. It was revived by Radio 2 in 2011, with Angela Barnes, Lucy Beaumont and Steve Bugeja winning the last three competitions.

Beaumont’s sitcom pilot, To Hull And Back, has recently been commissioned for a full series on Radio 4, while Bugeja’s show is currently in development.

To register to vote and for more info visit the BBC New Comedy Award website.