Andrew Dipper

2014 British Comedy Awards winners revealed

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The winners of the 2014 British Comedy Awards have been revealed.

Much to the dismay of Stewart Lee in the audience, Jack Whitehall triumphed in the public vote as he won King of Comedy for the third year in a row – but was not present to collect his award.

Neither were Monty Python, who won the lifetime achievement award, Lee Mack, who won best TV comic, and Graham Norton – a double winner for best entertainment personality and best entertainment show.

This year the awards were not broadcast live on television, but pre-recorded for transmission tonight at 9pm.

READ: Matt Berry interview

Matt Berry, who had six nominations, won best new comedy for Toast Of London. Collecting his award, he said: “I’m actually quite humbled because I didn’t think anyone would ever watch this, so good on you and bless you.”

Mrs Brown’s Boys creator Brendan O’Carroll won the Writer’s Guild Of Great Britain Award and told the audience: “Comedy is really hard. Even simple comedy like Mrs Brown’s Boys – it is simple – it’s tough. The one thing all comedians have – and all comic writers have – is we work our asses off.”

Aisling Bea was named best female TV comic and Nick Helm won the breakthrough act.

The winners are:

Best Comedy Panel Programme: Would I Lie To You

Best Comedy Entertainment Programme: The Graham Norton Show

Best Sketch Show: Harry & Paul Story of the Two’s

Best Sitcom: Moone Boy

Best Comedy Drama: Rev

Best New Comedy Programme: Toast Of London

Best International Comedy Programme:  Modern Family

Best Internet Comedy Short: Carpark

Best Comedy Film: The Inbetweeners 2

Best Male Television Comic: Lee Mack

Best Female Television Comic: Aisling Bea

Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist: Nick Helm

Best TV Comedy Actor: Harry Enfield

Best TV Comedy Actress: Katherine Parkinson

King Of Comedy: Jack Whitehall

  • sarah

    Jack Whitehall won again (yawn) I’ve seen funnier rotten banna skins at the bottom of my bin. His only won cos young girls are voting for him.

  • sarah

    No mention of Rik Mayall which is terrible as he was king of comedy. But yet Jack Whitehall gets an award?!? I won’t be watching out of respect to the wonderful Rik Mayall. Shame on you channel 4.

  • Nicetime

    How in the name of Marty Feldman did ‘House of Fools’ win nowt… Pah!