Nic Wright

NATYS finalists revealed

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The thirteen finalists for the annual New Acts of the Year Showcase have been confirmed.

This year’s showcase will take place at 2.30pm at the Leicester Square Theatre on January 31. Compered by MC Arthur Smith, last year’s Finalist Spencer The Herbert Jones will perform at the close of the show.Tickets for the final are £15.

The finalists who will be competing for the title next month are: President Obonjo, Bilal Zafar, Bucket (Ed Eales-White and Jon Pointing), Dave Green, Emma Sidi, Joseph Murphy (aka Mr. Spooky), Jimmy Bird, Josh Pugh, Laura Bodell (aka Svetlana The Oligarch’s Wife), Luca Cupani , Patrick Brusnahan, Revan and Fennell, and Thomas Rackham.

The NATYS, touted as the most important new comedy showcase in the country by The Guardian, has been rooting out the best up and coming comedy and variety acts every year since 1985.

Finalists have all appeared at one of four live shows showcasing 100 acts across a diverse range of stand-up, musical, sketch and speciality comedy during November.

The event has been running since 1982 and originally took place at the Hackney Empire, with previous finalists including Linda Smith, Ardal O’Hanlon, Stewart Lee, Daniel Kitson, Simon Amstell, Russell Brand, Eddie Izzard, Nina Conti, Alan Davies, Matt Lucas, Seann Walsh, Shappi Khorsandi, Rhod Gilbert and Harry Hill.