Nic Wright

Vic and Bob bag Slapstick award

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer have received an award at the annual Slapstick Festival.

The Aardman Slapstick Award, issued by the animation company and festival organisers, is awarded to contemporary performers deemed “worthy heirs to the earliest silent film comedians”.

Vic and Bob were present with the award for their 25 year contribution to visual comedy, which includes shows such as as Big Night Out, Shooting Stars and House Of Fools.

The presentation featured messages from fans, friends and collaborators, including Damien Hirst, Ulrika Johnsson, Jo Brand, Jack Dee, Charlie Higson and Matt Lucas.

As part of the honour, the pair received personalised versions of Aardman’s famous characters Morph and Chas.

David Sproxton, Aardman co-owner said: ‘It is important to keep alive an interest in visual humour. As the global and enduring popularity of our Morph and Shaun The Sheep animations proves, it‘s one of the few ways in which we can unite people of all ages, backgrounds, nationalities, languages and cultures.

‘So we are delighted to see this year’s Aardman Slapstick Visual Comedy Award going to Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer, in recognition of the attention they have paid to using visual and physical gags throughout their careers.

‘This creates humour that almost everyone can find funny – which is what we at Aardman also aim to do in the great majority of our work.’

Previous winners of the award include Eric Sykes, Michael Palin, Barry Humphries, The Goodies and June Whitfield.