Andrew Dipper

Sam Simmons wins the 2015 Edinburgh Comedy Award

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Sam Simmons has won the 2015 Edinburgh Comedy Award. 

The Australian comedian was presented with the award by the unlikely double-act of John Kearns and Freddie Flintoff at a packed ceremony at Dovecot Studios.

James Acaster, Joseph Morpurgo, Kieran Hodgson, Nish Kumar, Sarah Kendall, Seymour Mace and Trygve Wakenshaw were also up for the top award, which commands a £10,000 cash prize. 

The Best Newcomer prize of £5000 went to Free Fringe performer Sofie Hagen for her show, Bubblewrap.

And, controversially, Gilded Balloon founder Karen Koren won the Panel Prize, despite calls for Richard Gadd’s Waiting For Gaddot to be recognised.

 Lucy Lumsden, Chair of the Panel and Head of Comedy at Sky said: “It has been a joy to watch so many incredibly talented performers who encapsulate every genre of comedy from political satire to physical comedy and everything in between.” 

 All the winners and nominees can be seen at the Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards Show tomorrow at The Grand, Pleasance Courtyard.