Andrew Dipper

Gavin Webster named 2014 comedian’s comedian

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

It’s official: Gavin Webster is the new comedian’s comedian.

The Geordie stand-up has been named the UK Circuit Comedian of the Year 2014 in a vote by 187 of his fellow acts.

Webster said: “Thanks to everyone who voted for everyone. This means an awful lot. I normally don’t even win raffles never mind awards. The only downside is that I have to organise next year’s.

“We should all be proud to be circuit comics who write our own stuff and have to traipse up and down the motorway while getting belittled by silly critics. Good on the promoters as well for making the great gigs great.

“The first ever modern alternative comedian from the North East Mike Elliott (some of the older comics would have known him) unfortunately lost his battle with cancer yesterday, I’d like to dedicate this award to him, he was very funny and a big influence on lots of us.”

Mick Ferry, who won last year’s award and has organised the 2014 vote, said it was a tightly contested affair, with only two votes seperating Webster and second place.

He said: “It was incredibly tight between the final top four, so special mentions to Zoe Lyons, Roger Monkhouse and Jeff Innocent. Your peers love you.”

Monkhouse was also nominated in the MC of the Year category and won, fending off competition from Danny McLoughlin, Dan Nightingale and Mark Olver.

There will be a presentation of trophies at the end of January, appropriately at a service station.