Andrew Dipper

Zoe Lyons is the 2015 comedian’s comedian

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Zoe Lyons is the 2015 Comedian’s Comedian.

Lyons follows in the footsteps of Mick Ferry and Gavin Webster, who have won the Comedian’s Comedian prize since its inception in 2013.

Jeff Innocent was the runner-up in the competition decided by 168 fellow circuit comics, with Seymour Mace finishing third.

Webster, who organised this year’s UK Comedy Awards, said: “Well done Zoe. Votes right across the board, I know you were close last year but you’re a deserved winner this year.

“Have a drink tonight, your peers think you’re a terrific comic.

“And well done to everyone who got good voting figures and thanks to everyone who voted. We got 168 votes in all so I’m well pleased with that effort.

“Merry Christmas, comics – it’s been a pain in the arse yet at the same time a pleasure and a privilege doing this.”

As we reported earlier, Dan Nightingale won the Best MC gong and John Moloney was given the Outstanding Achievement In Stand-Up prize.

All the awards will be officially presented at a service station in January.